4 Comments
Oct 8, 2021Liked by Mike De Socio

As a 64 year old trans female, Eagle Scout, Vigil Honor scouter I was excommunicated from scouting in 1990 after being asked to resign my commission in the Army for being trans. I never thought I would be able to participate in Scouting again. I spent the next 27years working to make our community more open and inclusive of those in my community.

I was looking for ways to change that situation in the BSA when I learned, in 2017, that the ban had been removed. I immediately offered to help our local council become more inclusive. I helped a friend start a troop that was open to male identified trans, gender nonconforming (GNC), nonbinary (NB) and cisgender youth. and in 2020, started a partner troop for female identified scouts. I became the Lodge Adviser at the beginning of 2019. And as part of my Wood Badge ticket, held four seminars for scouters on working with trans youth.

I have seen several significant changes in the BSA in the last 4 years. The first is the acceptance with which I have been met, whether locally or at gatherings like the recent OA National Council Of Chiefs.

Second is that everywhere I go, I hear accounts of units that had trans and queer kids as members for a number of years, of trans female scouts on staff at the last National Jamboree, and of gay young men as lodge, section and region chiefs. I have been asked to help other troops open their doors to trans/GNC/NB youth. I have seen gay and lesbian youth serving as Boatswains for the Sea Scouts and as Venturing Crew Presidents. And I have seen people searching specifically for open and affirming units.

Third is the LGBTQ+ Scouts and Allies Facebook group, which is the only reason I still have FB on my computer.

Fourth is the number of youth in the program who are dedicated to living Inclusion, Diversity, Equity and Accessibility/Anti-racism (IDEA). Our youth are far ahead of their adult forebears

Fifth is how frequently I am now hear long time adult leaders saying. "It is time for us old white guys to make room for newer, more diverse voices."

Expand full comment

It's heartening to see how much support there is for inclusive Scouting in the professional Scouting sphere. When I was earning my Eagle Scout rank, there was an ongoing debate on whether I should even be allowed in the program, and now I am a trusted officer delivering the program. I feel like that is a lot of progress.

Expand full comment